Our focus is on landlord rights and we can help you through the entire process.
As a fellow commercial property owner, I understand the issues firsthand.
Although our primary emphasis is on landlord representation, we handle select commercial tenant cases.
We also prepare and review lease and rental documents.
•Five Day Notice to Vacate
•Prior Court Designation Requirement for Non-Lawyer Representative
•Requirements for Termination of Lease
•Written Leases Favored
•Special Requirements for Service of Paperwork.
•Scheduled Speaker at Lorman Legal Seminars Commercial Landlord
•Property Owner - 10+ Years
•Practicing Since 1994
Rental property is a challenge. Selecting tenants and dealing with the results of not making the right choice can be costly. Louisiana has special requirements for evictions that can make the process unique. To minimize the risk of a lawsuit, it is essential to comply with Louisiana’s statutory rules.
Are Your Tenants Living
Rental property can be a hassle. Sometimes there are problems dealing with tenants. When an eviction happens, it is important to get the right lawyer on your side. We have represented landlords for over 20 years and handled both commercial and residential evictions.
Evictions in Louisiana have many specialized rules. There are instances where a landlord may file an eviction action without the advice of an attorney and the whole matter is dismissed because of a defect in the notice or an error in the complaint.
Often, four to six weeks have gone by, and the landlord only realizes how complicated the law is and gets an attorney at that time. The tenant gets another few months of free rent.
How far should you let a renter get behind?
There is no firm rule. Once the first month’s rent is missed, it gets harder and harder for the tenant to catch up. Rarely will a tenant who is over two months behind ever catch up the late rent. We usually recommend starting the eviction process after the beginning of the second missed month to minimize losses. What is involved in an eviction? Louisiana is one of the most landlord friendly states. We can usually get the tenant out of the property within 30 days of beginning the eviction. The first step is giving the tenant formal notice to move out. Next is filing the eviction. If the tenant does not move at that point, we can get the Constable or Sheriff to formally evict the tenant.